Group instrument instances

Hello. I’m new to Csound and this is my first post on this forum.

I want to develop a JS library with some syntactic sugar on top of Csound. In the library I’d like to make it possible to define an instrument and then be able to create a node, corresponding the instrument. And that the node would be able to connect to other nodes despite the order of definition. For example:

// the equivalent of instrument definitions in Csound
ndef InstrumentName(someparam) { ... }
ndef AnotherInstrument() { ... }

// then I can instantiate a node
let instr1 = InstrumentNode();
let instr2 = AnotherInstrument();

// then I can connect nodes, forming a graph
instr1.out(instr2);

// and I can set parameters for a node (p4, p5, etc. automatically binded in the ndef)
instr1.set("someparam", 42);

// I can form another graph using the same instruments and setting 
// parameters for them independently
let instr3 = InstrumentNode();
let instr4 = AnotherInstrument();
instr4.out(instr3);

// there will be also patterns (i.e. event generators) which you can set independently 
// per nodes. So you can run the same instrument, but using different patterns in 
// parallel
instr1.set("someparam", /*pattern generator, producing events*/);
instr3.set("someparam", /*pattern generator, producing different events in parallel*/);

So far I found subinstr. So I could make a graph, which would be another instrument definition, and use the instruments (i.e. nodes) inside it using subinstr. But I’m not sure whether it’s performant enough. Is there any performance cost for using subinstr? Or maybe there’s a better way to do this? Also, what do you think about using UDOs as node definitions instead of instruments? And then graphs could be instruments using those UDOs. Is there any difference comparing performance between instruments and UDOs?