CsoundQt dac output select failure

This is a problem I’ve encountered before. Haven’t used Csound for a couple of years, so today I downloaded it and did a fresh install.

Totally standard Windows 10 PC, Focusrite USB ASIO audio interface, works fine with everything. Installed Csound and CsoundQt. Went to the CsoundQt Configure box and directed the audio I/O (adc and dac) to the Focusrite USB ASIO device. Clicked the Test Audio button. Here’s the output:

PortAudio: selected output device ‘Focusrite USB ASIO’
*** PortAudio: error: -9985: Device unavailable

I’m working on an article that I’ll be submitting to a website. I’ll be recommending Csound as a cool software option! So how do I get this working, and how can I explain it to readers so they won’t encounter the same problem?

Hi!

It is hard to tell, I have little personal experience on Windows. Please try and report the following:

• does CsoundQt work with the internal sound card

• is the result same (I guess it is) if you run the csd with Run in Terminal? Does command line csound give the same result?

• can you try both portaudio options (blocking and callback)

• is there perhaps several Focusrite USB entries in the device list? Like one with directaion, one through something else?

• is there something that is using the interface in the same time?

• do you have perhaps another USB interface to try out with?

I will make an experiments on Windows with an USB card when I get a chance.

Greetings,
Tarmo

Kontakt JimAikin via The Csound Community (<noreply@forum.csound.com>) kirjutas kuupäeval P, 14. jaanuar 2024 kell 22:05:

No. However, I get a different result, namely error -9998, invalid number of channels. I’m not sure why the AudioMidiTest.csd is set up with nchnls = 8, but when I switch that back to 2, I get the -9985 error with the internal sound card.

I would need instructions on how to do that.

I tried that. It didn’t change anything.